Union Européenne de Cyclisme
UEC 6 March 2021



The Union Européenne de Cyclisme Congress, held virtually this morning with official delegates from 50 affiliated Federations, elected the Italian Enrico Della Casa as President for the four-year period 2021-2025.

At the virtual Congress, members of the UEC Management Board were also elected: Katarina Jakubova (Svk), Natallia Tsylinskaya (Blr), Alexander Gusyatnikov (Rus), Henrik Jess Jensen (Den), Dragomir Kouzov (Bul) and Delmino Albano Magalhães Pereira (Por)

After the election, the new President said: «Leading a Continental Confederation as important as the Union Européenne de Cyclisme in such unprecedented times is a challenge which requires commitment and awareness. Over the last eight years as General Secretary, thanks to the former Presidents, David Lappartient and Rocco Cattaneo and their respective Management Committees, we initiated a major development plan giving the UEC a new, modern and organised image making it today one of the most important and recognised organisations in European sport.

The grassroots activities of 50 affiliated National Federations and our athletes, especially young people, has always been the focus of our attention. We created and implemented a development plan which, in addition to other actions, lead to the introduction of new events, the European Road title for the Elite category, multi-year contracts with some sponsors and Eurovision, and we have strengthened our relationship with the Union Cycliste Internationale, the European Olympic Committee and National Federations.

I would firstly like to thank the National Federations who have entrusted me to continue with them the journey that the UEC began under the presidency of David Lappartient (2013-2017) and Rocco Cattaneo (2017-2021), Presidents to whom I am grateful for handing over a strong and solid Confederation in all respects, and I would also like to thank Management Committee members and Technical Commissions over the last few years for their decisive contribution to the UEC’s development.»

The Congress was also followed by the President of the Union Cycliste Internationale David Lappartient who, after the elections, said: «I would like to congratulate Enrico Della Casa on his election as President of the Union Européenne de Cyclisme. I am certain that he will bring his experience, skill and commitment to serve the UEC and European cycling. I know how passionate he is about our wonderful sport and his willingness to serve all European National Federations. He will be worthy of the trust of UEC members who will continue to lead the way, both in terms of the organisation of prestigious events and good governance, especially for the development of the youth categories and Women’s cycling».

Rocco Cattaneo, outgoing President of the Union Européenne de Cyclisme: «I have greatly enjoyed the wonderful managerial experience leading the UEC, which is ending today after four years.  I am proud to hand over the presidency of the Confederation which represents over 80% of the world cycling movement to Enrico Della Casa. Enrico and I have worked together in perfect harmony over the last four years to give the UEC the role that it has today on an international level and I know that he has the necessary expertise to continue the work that we started a few years ago».

Immediately after the end of the Congress, the new UEC Management Board appointed the Vice-Presidents Alexander Gusyatnikov (Rus), Henrik Jess Jensen (Den) and Delmino Albano Magalhães Pereira (Por) and as General Secretary Alasdair MacLennan (Gbr).

During the first Managemet Board meeting, which took place virtually this afternoon, a particularly important decision was already taken: the creation of the UEC Women's Commission chaired by Natallia Tsylinskaya (Blr).

At the Congress, the UCI Management Committee European candidates and the fifteen voting delegates for the UCI Congress planned on 24 september were also elected.

Enrico Della Casa

Born in 1967 in Lausanne (Switzerland), married and father of three children, Enrico Della Casa, originally from Correggio (Reggio Emilia - Italy), throughout his career occupied key posts at the UCI as Anti-Doping Commission Co-ordinator to 2000 and Track Co-ordinator in 2001.

From 2002 to 2013, he occupied the post of Track Co-ordinator at the Italian Cycling Federation, responsible for the logistical management of Track and Road national teams at major events: 2004 Athens Olympic Games, Beijing 2008 and London 2012, as well as World Championships and World Cup races.

As member (2005-2009) and President (2009-2013) of the UEC Track Commission, he was already very involved in the UEC and was then appointed General Secretary in 2013. 


UEC 2021-2025

UEC President

Enrico Della Casa (Ita)


UEC Management Board

Alexander Gusyatnikov (Rus) – Vice President

Henrik Jess Jensen (Den) – Vice President

Delmino Albano Magalhães Pereira (Por) – Vice President

Katarina Jakubova (Svk)

Natallia Tsylinskaya (Blr)

Dragomir Kouzov (Bul)


UEC General Secretary

Alasdair MacLennan (Gbr)


European candidates for the UCI Management Committee

Daniela Isetti - Italy

Agata Lang - Poland

Michel Callot - France

Rocco Cattaneo - Switzerland

Henrik Jess Jensen - Denmark

Toni Kirsch - Germany

Jose Luis Lopez Cerron - Spain

Igor Makarov - Russia

Petr Marek - Czech Republic

European voting delegates at the UCI Congress

Livia Hanesova - Slovakia

Jaroslava Krakovicova- Czech Republic           

Victoria Lesnikova- Russia       

Csilla Tam - Hungary   

Lucia Trevisan - Italy                                                   

Joe Bajada - Malta                                                      

Walter Baldiserra - San Marino                                                                                               

Jose Luis Costa Mendes Ribeiro - Portugal

Camille Dahm - Luxembourg

Alejandro Martin Garcia - Spain                                                

Umberto Langellotti - Monaco                                                  

Thierry Marechal - Belgium                                                                                                     

Raivo Rand - Estonia                                                  

Vitali Zhmako - Belarus                                               

Tomislav Zadro - Croatia                                                                                                               


Katariina Laakkonen - Finland                                     

Tabitha Rendall - Great Britain

Doris Turin - Switzerland                                                         

Farhad Alyev - Azerbaijan

Thomas Backteman - Sweeden                                               

Krzysztof Golowiej - Poland                                                                

Omar Pkhakadze - Georgia                             

Kjersti Storset - Norway                                               

In the same category

UEC 18 March 2024
Read more
UEC 1 March 2024
Read more
UEC 20 December 2023
Read more