Road - 21 August 2020


Everything is ready in Plouay (France) for the 2020 edition of the Road European Championships that will begin on Monday 24 August with all the Time-Trial races.

Located in the heart of Britanny in Morbihan, the city of Plouay has always had close links with cycling with more than 80 editions of the  Bretagne Classic Ouest-France, a race registered on the UCI World Tour calendar, the GP de Plouay - Lorient Agglomération Trophée WNT for Women Elite (both scheduled on 25 August) and the UCI Road World Championships in 2000.

Over the four days of racing, 13 titles will be awarded: Juniors Road and Time-Trial, Under 23 and Elite (Men and Women) and the Mixed Relay.

With regards to participation in the Road race on Wednesday 26 August, watch out in the Men’s races for the Olympic gold medallist in Rio de Janeiro 2016, Greg van Avermaet (Belgium), the Norwegian 2017 European Champion, Alexander Kristoff, the French sprinters, Arnaud Demare and Nacer Bouhanni, the current MTB and Cyclo-Cross European Champion, Mathieu van der Poel, who will be leading his national team from the Netherlands, the German bronze medallist last year Pascal Ackermann, and the Italian, Matteo Trentin (gold medallist in 2018), the British, Mark Cavendish and Tom Pidcock, and the Time-Trial double European Champion, Victor Campenaerts (Belgium).

In the Women’s Elite, the national team to beat will be the Dutch with the current European Champion, Amy Pieters, the Olympic Champion, winner of the 2016 European title in Plumelec, Britanny, Anna van der Breggen, the World Champion Annemiek van Vleuten, the multiple Olympic and World Champion, Marianne Vos (2017 European Champion) and the young Lorena Wiebes. As well as the Dutch champions, the 2018 European Champion, the Italian, Marta Bastianelli, the Dane, Cecilie Uttrup Ludwig, the former British World Champion, Elizabeth Deignan and the Pole, Katarzyna Niewiadoma.

Information, TV programmes, registration lists and results – click here.